Connect with us

Movies / TV Series

Marvel Superhero Series ‘WandaVision’ Wins Big At MTV Awards 2021 (Winners’ List)



Marvel Superhero Series ‘WandaVision’ Wins Big At MTV Awards 2021 (Winners' List)

Marvel superhero series “WandaVision” was the big winner at the MTV Movie and TV Awards on Sunday, as Sacha Baron Cohen poked fun at his recent Oscars loss, with a little help from Borat, Bruno, and the gang.

“WandaVision,” which takes characters from Marvel’s record-breaking superhero blockbuster films and shifts the action to the Disney+ streaming platform, won four awards at the Los Angeles ceremony, including best show.

The oddball but acclaimed series set in a bizarre, sitcom-inspired world also bagged the best performance in a series for its star Elizabeth Olsen, best villain for Kathryn Hahn, and “best fight.”

“This is bananas, this whole thing, this whole year has been so trippy,” said Hahn, one of several stars to refer to the pandemic’s impact, with the live in-person award show taking place in Hollywood a year after the previous edition was canceled.

The late Chadwick Boseman, who surprisingly failed to posthumously win the best actor for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” at last month’s Oscars, was honoured for best performance in a movie.

The awards do not differentiate between male and female actors, and have been honouring Hollywood since 1992 with “golden popcorn” statuettes for unconventional categories including “best kiss.”

READ ALSO  Vin Diesel Confirms Cardi B Will Return in ‘Fast & Furious 10’

Taking place at the start of the summer blockbuster season, and voted for online by the public, the awards tend to recognize more mainstream and commercial favorites than other ceremonies.

“To All the Boys: Always and Forever”, the conclusion to Netflix’s trilogy of teenage romantic comedies adapted from Jenny Han’s young adult novels, was named best movie.

Baron-Cohen won a non-competitive award, accepting in a video that saw him arguing with various of his own comic and frequently inappropriate personas such as Borat and Ali G.

“Right before anyone else does it, I am officially canceling myself,” joked Baron Cohen.

“I was actually really looking forward to this after losing at the Oscars. You can keep it. Go on, you’re a caricature,” he told his gay Austrian fashionista alter-ego, Bruno, handing over his statuette.

Baron-Cohen had been nominated for best-supporting male in “The Trial of the Chicago 7” and best-adapted screenplay for “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” but failed to win either Academy Award.

Full List Of Winners

“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
“Judas and the Black Messiah”
“Promising Young Woman”
“To All the Boys: Always and Forever” *WINNER

READ ALSO  Ramsey Nouah Directs New Movie, ‘Verified’

“Cobra Kai”
“Emily in Paris”
“The Boys”
“WandaVision” *WINNER

Carey Mulligan — “Promising Young Woman”
Chadwick Boseman — “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” *WINNER
Daniel Kaluuya — “Judas and the Black Messiah”
Sacha Baron Cohen — “The Trial of the Chicago 7”
Zendaya — “Malcolm & Marie”

Anya Taylor-Joy — “The Queen’s Gambit”
Elizabeth Olsen — “WandaVision” *WINNER
Elliot Page — “The Umbrella Academy”
Emma Corrin — “The Crown”
Michaela Coel — “I May Destroy You”

Anthony Mackie — “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” *WINNER
Gal Gadot — “Wonder Woman 1984”
Jack Quaid — “The Boys”
Pedro Pascal — “The Mandalorian”
Teyonah Parris — “WandaVision”

Wanda vs. Agatha — “WandaVision” *WINNER
Starlight, Queen Maeve, Kimiko vs. Stormfront — “The Boys.”
Final Funhouse Fight — “Birds of Prey (and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn)”
Final Fight — “Zack Snyder’s Justice League”

Chase Stokes & Madelyn Cline — “Outer Banks” *WINNER
Jodie Comer & Sandra Oh — “Killing Eve”
Lily Collins & Lucas Bravo — “Emily in Paris”
Maitreyi Ramakrishnan & Jaren Lewison — “Never Have I Ever”
Regé-Jean Page & Phoebe Dynevor — “Bridgerton”

READ ALSO  ‘Picture Perfect’ Season 3 Confirmed

Annie Murphy –“Schitt’s Creek”
Eric Andre — “Bad Trip”
Issa Rae — “Insecure”
Jason Sudeikis — “Ted Lasso”
Leslie Jones — “Coming 2 America” *WINNER

Aya Cash –“The Boys”
Ewan McGregor — “Birds of Prey”
Giancarlo Esposito — “The Mandalorian”
Kathryn Hahn, “WandaVision” *WINNER
Nicholas Hoult — “The Great”

Antonia Gentry — “Ginny & Georgia”
Ashley Park — “Emily in Paris”
Maria Bakalova — “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”
Paul Mescal — “Normal People”
Regé-Jean Page — “Bridgerton” *WINNER

Elisabeth Moss — “The Invisible Man”
Jurnee Smollett — “Lovecraft Country”
Simona Brown — “Behind Her Eyes”
Victoria Pedretti — “The Haunting of Bly Manor” *WINNER
Vince Vaughn — “Freaky”

Kristen Wiig & Annie Mumolo — “Barb and Star Go To Vista Del Mar”
Anthony Mackie & Sebastian Stan — “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” *WINNER
Pedro Pascal & Grogu/Baby YodA — “The Mandalorian”
Lily Collins & Ashley Park — “Emily in Paris”
Sacha Baron Cohen & Maria Bakalova — “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Follow Us on Facebook

Get Stories Via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe Celebrity Gig Magazine and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 228,488 other subscribers


%d bloggers like this: